Search Unity

"points of interest" transition

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by Tom163, Sep 22, 2020.

1. Tom163

Tom163

I'm new to Cinemachine, so apologies if this is really trivial, but I've read the docs and experimented and can't figure it out.

I have a bunch of 3D scenes with "points of interest" that I want to transition between, by moving the camera. For each POI I have a good camera position and rotation that I want to use.

Moving between them is my issue. I've tried it with animations, which gives me great control, but the number of animations just explodes. For 3 POIs it's very manageable, for 4 tedious, above that just too much work.

I thought about Cinemachine dolly tracks, but it's almost the same problem - I need to build tracks between all points.

I'm sure there's a better way, where I can somehow tell the camera "move from your current position to position 5, avoid all colliders" or "go from waypoint to waypoint inbetween" or something like that? I have a kind of paths that I can follow with the camera, or I can block off regions I want it to avoid using colliders.

I seriously thought about using the NavMesh for this, but then I thought Cinemachine certainly has a solution. But it evades me so far. Anyone can point me in the right direction ?

2. marc_tanenbaum

marc_tanenbaum

Unity Technologies

Hi @Tom163

In Cinemachine, the usual approach to this problem is to create a Virtual Camera at each point of interest (so you have 1 Camera and many VCams – the VCams are like bookmarks of camera positions/configurations you like). The transitions between them are managed by Cinemachine, so no need for animations or dolly tacks. So all you need to do after positioning the VCams is alter their relative priority values.

Gregoryl likes this.
  3. Gregoryl

Gregoryl

Unity Technologies