Search Unity

pointless variables?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by illerhas, Sep 18, 2020.

1. illerhas

illerhas

Hello,

I am new to coding and following a tutorial, and I noticed he creates private variables in a method that only get used once. Is this best practice or is it just his style and unnecessary?

Here is an example that he uses for spawning a powerup.
    Code (CSharp):
    1. IEnumerator SpawnPowerupRoutine()
    2.    {
    3.        while (player != NULL)
    4.        {
    5.            Vector3 postToSpawn = New Vector3(Random.Range(-8f, 8f), 7, 0);
    6.            Instantiate(powerupPrefab, postToSpawn, Quaternion.identity);
    7.            yield return new WaitForSeconds(Random.Range(3, 8));
    8.        }
    9.    }
    to me it seems that there is no reason to add that variable, postToSpawn, and so i built it like this
    Code (CSharp):
    1.  IEnumerator SpawnPowerup()
    2.     {
    3.         while (player != NULL)
    4.         {
    5.             Instantiate(powerupPrefab, new Vector3(Random.Range(-8f, 8f), 7, 0), Quaternion.identity);
    6.             yield return new WaitForSeconds(Random.Range(3, 8));
    7.         }
    8.     }
    Again, I am very new to coding and just curious as to why he does it this way. and if i should adopt this habit and create localized variables also, or if i can just keep chugging along on my own rails.

2. StarManta

StarManta

Cramming more things into fewer things isn't better.

The main reason to arrange code on separate lines like this is to make debugging easier. If you get an exception on the tutorial's line 5 here, you've got that one chunk of code to analyze to find it. In your code, that same exception would point you to your line 5, where you'd have to dig through 3x as many things to find the issue. (Some exceptions are not terribly specific, like NullReferenceException for example, that makes this kind of thing vital to narrowing down the issue.)