Search Unity

Question Point & Click Adventure with verb list at the bottom with cinemachine

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by HaukeG, Apr 1, 2023.

1. HaukeG

HaukeG

Hello all,
    I am very new to Unity and have already read through various topics and watched several videos about point and click in 2D. In principle, I have also managed so far that my character can run back and forth and that with Cinemachine also the focus remains on my character and I can then also move in larger rooms.
    But now I want to show the list of verbs like open, take, close, use etc. at the bottom, as it was common in the past. For this I have created a graphic but unfortunately it disappears when I move my figure to the right or left.
    So my question is how to do this in the first place. Is the bottom section (where the inventory is also displayed) a separate scene? Then I would have to show two scenes at the same time (above Cinemachine and below the other scene with the verbs)? Or do I have to have two cameras in the scene? I'm still a bit at a loss and can't find any real examples or videos. Can someone give me a tip on what exactly I need to look for? Presumably there are also different possibilities, but I'm not really getting anywhere.

Thanks to all and have a nice weekend!

2. marc_tanenbaum

marc_tanenbaum

Unity Technologies

There are probably a lot of ways to do this, but a couple spring to mind.

The first – and perhaps most obvious to me – is for your verb list to exist on a UI layer. This will stay fixed onscreen, regardless of what happens in the game world or the camera. This community-made video looks like a pretty good run-down of how to do this.

Another way could be to use two Cinemachine cameras on layers. Probably this is not the best way to go...it's more of a use case for split-screens and picture-in-picture. But it might work depending on how you want your verb list to work, exactly. Gregory explains the way to do this here.

Hope that helps.