Search Unity

Please Read! iOS 6 Deployment issues small work around!!!

Discussion in 'iOS and tvOS' started by Aurore, Sep 20, 2012.

  1. blaze

    blaze

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    OEEEEEEEE!!!

    One more point to Blaze!

    Downloading!

    P.S.: I hope that Aurore dont see this, or she will want to cut my throat!
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2012
  2. sonicviz

    sonicviz

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Posts:
    1,030
    You guys are sneaky! I like it! *downloading as I'm in desperate need to submit an upgrade* ty!
     
  3. blaze

    blaze

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    The support gave the gap, and I sniffed the trick. :)

    It resolves the problem? I will instal right now.
     
  4. JamesMobot

    JamesMobot

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Posts:
    170
    I am guessing you are only using armv7 but base target is still iOS 4.xx
    Xcode 4.5 no longer has support for armv6, Set to armv7 only AND build base target to min of 5.0 and you will not get that error.

    The app store autorejects pre ios5.0 without having the the older architecture which, ironically is no longer part of xcode 4.5
     
  5. blaze

    blaze

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    Tested and aproved. 3.5.6 resolved my iOS6 problems.
    Thank you very much Unity team!
     
  6. Jexreffy

    Jexreffy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Posts:
    22
    Awesome!
     
  7. mtoivo

    mtoivo

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Posts:
    274
    Seems to fix the autorotation+loadimage glitch, nice. Let's hope there are no other bugs hiding there, but at least my game seems to work fine. Still testing, though. Thanks for digging this info into daylight, maybe I have a chance to submit the binaries this week, whee. Oh, and thanks to Unity devs also for fixing the actual issues.
     
  8. blaze

    blaze

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    The site isn't updated yet.
    http://unity3d.com/unity/download/
     
  9. mtoivo

    mtoivo

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Posts:
    274
    I guess this would be the right thread to ask this one. I'm developing a game that supports three resolutions on iOS: 480x320 (iphone 3GS), 960x640 (iphone 4) and 1024x768 (ipad1 ipad2). Before updating to 3.5.6, I had set my build settings of Target Resolution to the value "Standard (medium or low resolution). So the supported iphones worked on their native resolutions, but retina iPad scaled it's resolution to 1024x768, for quality reasons (we would need much better textures, app size would increase what not). Now, after updating, when I use the same settings, also iphone 4 resolution is scaled down to 480x320. Previously it worked on native resolution. Any hopes of getting it work like it used to? I'm not reverting to 3.5.5 anymore, this has to be fully iOS 6.0 compatible. I'm willing to tweak Xcode-settings, if it's possible that way.
     
  10. 2Dboomer

    2Dboomer

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Posts:
    35
    Start downloading 3.5.6, hope the issue can be solved. :)
     
  11. J_P_

    J_P_

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,023
    3.5.6 is available?
     
  12. sonicviz

    sonicviz

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Posts:
    1,030
    @Aurore
    Hi, Could you please confirm status of the 3.5.6 release with the fixes.
    I downloaded the version at the links above but if it's not the final release I don't want to submit to Apple - just in case.

    ty!
     
  13. DFT-Games

    DFT-Games

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Posts:
    434
    I really want to hear from Unity people here... the official download still presents just the 3.5.5, which means that the 3.5.6 we downloaded might not have passed QA yet.
     
  14. blaze

    blaze

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    Yesterday Mika Mobile updated the Zombieville 2 with support to iPhone5.
    Then, someone told they to download this version too.

    I think that is official, but the man that compiles the package isn't the same that updates the website, then is getting delayed.
     
  15. DFT-Games

    DFT-Games

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Posts:
    434
    Unity Tech is not a garage company, they worth millions and have hundreds of employees, so I don't believe they are more disorganized than a family studio. If they haven't updated the download link it means that it's not ready for delivering. That download is an f4 already, so I guess it's not cleared by the QA yet.
     
  16. hellobard

    hellobard

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Posts:
    129
  17. Graham-Dunnett

    Graham-Dunnett

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Posts:
    4,288
    Drop me a PM with the support case number that took two weeks. We try to get license migrations turned around in a day so I want to know what happened in this case.

    4.0 has a different licensing system, and automating the transfer of a serial from one machine to another is one of the things this change allows us to do.
     
  18. Aurore

    Aurore

    Head of Learn Content Production Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    3,104
    3.5.6 is Available right now!

    We apologise for the delay, we've been working hard to get this update as good as it can be, even flying one of our staff to Lithuania on iphone 5 release day to get the handset to devs as soon as humanly possible. Big thanks for being so patient.
     
  19. CH

    CH

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Posts:
    109
    Great to hear, thanks for your hard work and flying to Lithuania! :D
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2012
  20. jcarpay

    jcarpay

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Posts:
    520
    Appreciate the effort the team put into getting this release out as soon as possible for us, great job guys!
     
  21. albertwang

    albertwang

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Posts:
    12
    Thanks so much for the effort!
     
  22. Tricko

    Tricko

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Posts:
    14
    I'm doing a similar thing to yourself, actively supporting 480x320, 960x640 and 1024x768, and want the retina iPad to display at 1024x768 upscaled only (and now iPhone 5...)

    I've just updated to 3.5.6 and double checked on an iPod 4th gen, and it's working fine at 960x640, *but*, I'm using the "Native (default device resolution)" setting, not the low one.

    I've always thought that was the right selection for the the behavior you want as well?

    Cheers.
     
  23. DFT-Games

    DFT-Games

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Posts:
    434
    Thanks! And... it is still the f4 so the one unofficially downloaded has been confirmed :)
     
  24. Aurore

    Aurore

    Head of Learn Content Production Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    3,104
    Where are you seeing f4? It should be 3.5.6 now.
     
  25. damelin

    damelin

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    20
    In the About! :)

    3.5.6f4
     
  26. DFT-Games

    DFT-Games

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Posts:
    434
    What damelin said ;)
    Edit: actually also when you run the setup :)
     
  27. Aurore

    Aurore

    Head of Learn Content Production Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    3,104
    Oh, I see, I thought you meant it was named 3.5.5f4 still....mild heart attack over.
     
  28. efge

    efge

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Posts:
    55
    A BIG thank you from Munich!
     
  29. JamesMobot

    JamesMobot

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Posts:
    170
    I can confirm. Our game has been submitted and approved.
    This update fixes everything and was one of the smoothest and easiest updates I've seen.
    Tested on iphone5 and everything works great!

    I could be wrong but iPhone4s feels like there is a little FPS boost too.
     
  30. blaze

    blaze

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    I feel something like this in my iPad2 after I updated iOS6, with the same game.
     
  31. hermesdavidms

    hermesdavidms

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    i also can confirm that the update fixes everything, now my projects work without problems once again on my ipad 2
     
  32. JamesArndt

    JamesArndt

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Posts:
    2,689
    If I apply this new update will I lose my iOS Basic license that I have for 3.5?
     
  33. jerotas

    jerotas

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Posts:
    5,053
    Yes the auto-rotation has been fixed along with orientation. Great job Unity guys! Better late than never.
     
  34. JamesArndt

    JamesArndt

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Posts:
    2,689
    Does anyone have an answer for my earlier question?
     
  35. blaze

    blaze

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    No.

    :)
     
  36. jerotas

    jerotas

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Posts:
    5,053
    My guess would be that the answer is no. It will probably carry the same license over. I've update Unity many times and it always keeps the license mode. I never have to enter it again unless I change computers. If you have doubts and are on Windows, do a system backup first so you can roll back if not.
     
  37. protopop

    protopop

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Posts:
    1,210
    Great work with the 3.5.6 update.

    Does anyone know if the Xcode 4.5/IOS 6 fixes will be ported to Unity 4 in time for the holidays?
     
  38. strongbox3d

    strongbox3d

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    Where in Xcode can I turn "compress png files" to NO? I don't find that choice.

    Regards
     
  39. blaze

    blaze

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    Update to 3.5.6 and you will not need to do that.
     
  40. ccontinisio

    ccontinisio

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Posts:
    37
    If I understand correctly, I have the same issue. I'm building an iPad game that's supposed to run in portrait mode, iPad only, but when I launch it on the device I see it stretched horizontally, almost as if the game was in the aspect ratio of the iPhone 5 (so 16:9 instead of 4:3).

    Any idea? I have Unity 4, not 3.x.
    Basically as of now I cannot have my product on the device, and I'm going to need it badly in a few days for a public event.
     
  41. strongbox3d

    strongbox3d

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    Thank you blaze but I am using the Unity3d 4 beta already. That is why I need to know where in the Xcode I can find the choice to not compress png files

    Regards
     
  42. blaze

    blaze

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    Right, I will show to you. Wait a minute!
     
  43. blaze

    blaze

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    I tested it on 3.5.5 and dont worked, but here is, like you requested!

    Open your project in the Xcode, go to "Build Settings":

    $Screen Shot 2012-09-29 at 23.06.59.png

    Then:
    1) click in "All", to show all options instead of "Basic";
    2) write in the searchbox "png" and press Enter;
    3) change the "Compress PNG Files" like you want;

    $Screen Shot 2012-09-29 at 23.07.17.png

    I delayed too much because I was on my PC with windows, and the Macbook's battery had died, it took a while to give it back to life. Tell us if it resolved the problem.
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2012
  44. strongbox3d

    strongbox3d

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    Thank you so much Blaze! I will let you know right away.

    Regards
     
  45. strongbox3d

    strongbox3d

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    Blaze, it didn't fix the problem, which is in my case by the way, that my splash screen turns around while the app is loading at the beginning. Just in case that this info helps you to understand the problem I am having and perhaps my problems is easier to fix.

    Regards
     
  46. blaze

    blaze

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    You asked where to turn off the compression, and I showed to you.
    But I guessed if it would help you too.
    I dont know how to fix the rotate problem, but, maybe they will update Unity4 beta to fix this soon.

    I'm a poor boy, dont have money to pay the pre order. :p

    Sorry for not being able to help.
     
  47. ccontinisio

    ccontinisio

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Posts:
    37
    In the meanwhile, try to disable Autorotation before exporting from Unity.
    You can find it in the Player Settings, in Resolution and Presentation here:



    This should fix autorotation and stretched display problems as it did for me.
    I'm still experiencing worse framerate than before though :(
     
  48. strongbox3d

    strongbox3d

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    Hello Blazed,

    You totally helped me! Just by answering my question and I appreciate it very much. Thanks.

    Regards
     
  49. strongbox3d

    strongbox3d

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    Hello ccontinisio,

    I have a fixed rotation since the beginning. My game only plays in landscape left, and it was working great until the upgrade to IOS 6 and then only the splash screen rotates and stretches while loading the first level. Thanks very much for your subjestion though, that is why I always count on this forum, because at least I know that you guys will try to help and I appreciate it.

    Regards
     
  50. DreamEnder

    DreamEnder

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Posts:
    190
    Any ETA on when this gets fixed for Unity 4 Beta? Really frustrating.
     
unityunity