Search Unity

Please put the track names on the track!

Discussion in 'Timeline' started by Carwashh, Aug 30, 2017.

  1. Carwashh

    Carwashh

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Posts:
    357
    As track names aren't displayed in the timeline(?), only when you select a track it shows in the inspector, I've taken to naming clips to do with the track... however, this name is always in the center of the clip and as you can see in the image, that name isn't kept on screen when the track/clip is too long to fit on the screen in its entirity (the bindings are empty because they're in a different scene and added at runtime).

    Can we get the track names displayed somewhere on the timeline so they're visible at all times, please?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 30, 2017
    Drapan, mathiastg and Chrisad like this.
  2. mathiastg

    mathiastg

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    I completely agree. They tracknames are actually displayed (instead of bindings) if you select the asset and not the playable director, although that may be of little help.
     
  3. Carwashh

    Carwashh

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Posts:
    357
    I'm gonna bump this to hopefully get a reply from Unity/ get more feedback from devs wanting the same.
     
  4. seant_unity

    seant_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Posts:
    958
    We've definitely heard that, and plan on addressing it in the near future.
     
    Drapan and Carwashh like this.