Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Feedback Please let me deactivate the Hub menu bar icon on macOS

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by Bradamante, Oct 23, 2019.

  1. Bradamante

    Bradamante

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Posts:
    294
    Unfortunately on macOS right now there are multiple apps that create icons in the main menu bar, including Skype, Razer Synapse and more. The Unity Hub is now one of them, while older versions were not. While others might find this feature useful, I do not. Instead my main menu bar is cluttered with icons.

    So would you please add a checkbox in the settings that let me deactivate the menu bar icon? Good apps let me do that. Don't be a bad app Unity Hub. Be a good app.
     
  2. AbrahamDUnity

    AbrahamDUnity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Posts:
    377
    Hi @Bradamante,

    Thank you for your feedback. Since the Hub typically runs in the background it makes sense for it to have a menu bar icon. In fact I don't recall any previous version not including a menu bar icon. We'll consider adding an option to deactivate it, but I can't promise anything.

    Best,
     
  3. BrainAndBrain

    BrainAndBrain

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    96
    I second @Bradamante's suggestion. There's no reason to keep it there—in fact, there's no reason that Unity Hub needs to be open all the time at all. Is it no longer optional?
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2019 at 2:49 AM
  4. tlieber

    tlieber

    Joined:
    Friday
    Posts:
    1
    I'd like to remove it, too.

    Are you thinking of Windows? On macOS, Unity Hub also appears in the dock, so also being in the menu bar doesn't make it any easier to access.
     
  5. AbrahamDUnity

    AbrahamDUnity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Posts:
    377
    @tlieber The dock icon on MacOS is a known issue that we'll resolve eventually. Ideally there would only be the menubar icon.
     
  6. BrainAndBrain

    BrainAndBrain

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    96
    @AbrahamDUnity I don't think this is a solution, as menu bar clutter is a real problem that many power users (e.g. devs) care about. It also brings to mind a broader issue with Unity Hub: will it remain optional?

    I posted a feedback thread asking for the ability to open Unity without Unity Hub opening automatically, something that seems to be a fairly recent change. I don't need another app open, and it's very strange (and decidedly non-standard) that in order to open a Unity project from within Unity (e.g. File->Open…), Unity Hub activates. It's also incredibly slow! What should be a simple process becomes an exercise in frustration.

    I see the utility of Unity Hub as a place to manage Unity installations, define which projects open in which version, etc. But I don't see how moving core application functionality, such as New/Open Project, to an external application makes sense.
     
  7. Baste

    Baste

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Posts:
    4,330
    The reason is that they've made the Hub responsible for managing your login. That makes sense, as the Hub interacts with your login to show cloud projects and such.


    In other words, the Hub opens when you do file->open due to a cascading failure of product and project management and poor ideas that stack on top of each other.
     
  8. AbrahamDUnity

    AbrahamDUnity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Posts:
    377
    @BrainAndBrain you can definitely open the editor directly. To do so you will need to pass your project path as a command-line argument. You also have the option of opening the Hub to open your project then close it from the menu bar.

    In a broader discussion the Hub is going to take on more responsibility in the Unity ecosystem as it stabilizes. We plan on making the user experience as smooth as possible -which means performance issues will be addressed. The Hub will also be more customizable to adapt to specific workflows. For instance you may be able to choose whether it automatically quits after opening a project or stays focused.

    What we really want is to be as useful as possible when you need us and out of your way when you don't. Of course this can't be done without your help, which is why we need your feedback. Accommodating everyone isn't always possible but we will definitely consider a feature if a user speaks out in the forums. I hope that clarified our position on the matter.

    Cheers,
     
    Baste likes this.
  9. BrainAndBrain

    BrainAndBrain

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    96
    Thanks for the information. I'm already closing the Hub after Unity launches, but it's good to know that I can use the command line. However, as someone who cares about user experience, I think there's unnecessary friction there, and that wasn't there until just recently. Software seems to be on a trend line of not respecting its users, and I don't want to see Unity moving in that direction, as in general it's been a tool I've been quite happy with.
     
  10. AbrahamDUnity

    AbrahamDUnity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Posts:
    377
    Well I'd be glad to help remove this friction as much as possible. I don't think we'll go back to a native Editor window to create/open a project anytime soon but we can try and make the Hub launch faster and quit automatically :D.
     
  11. BrainAndBrain

    BrainAndBrain

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    96
    @AbrahamDUnity Thanks! To be more specific about the speed issue I encountered, File->Open… in Unity gave the Hub focus (it was already open), but it was a blank window for a while; then it finally displayed my list of projects. I suspect it was going out to the internet to fetch a project list, but it would be great if it would display local projects first, which should be instantaneous.

    Thanks!
     
    AbrahamDUnity likes this.
  12. AbrahamDUnity

    AbrahamDUnity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Posts:
    377
    Thank you for the details. We don't fetch the projects online before showing the list but we do some file system validations that might take some time. I can't commit to a specific milestone but we will look into it.

    Best,