Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. Join us on Dec 8, 2022, between 7 am & 7 pm EST, in the DOTS Dev Blitz Day 2022 - Q&A forum, Discord, and Unity3D Subreddit to learn more about DOTS directly from the Unity Developers.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Have a look at our Games Focus blog post series which will show what Unity is doing for all game developers – now, next year, and in the future.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Please help i dont know what i did wrong but my cooldown doesnt work

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by driceyz, Sep 27, 2022.

  1. driceyz

    driceyz

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2021
    Posts:
    6
    Code (csharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using System.Collections.Generic;
    3. using UnityEngine;
    4.  
    5. public class treedown : MonoBehaviour
    6. {
    7.     public bool PlayerLooking;
    8.     int TreeHealth = 5;
    9.     float ChopCooldown = 5f;
    10.     bool ChopReset = false;
    11.     float ChopResetCooldown = 5f;
    12.     public void Update()
    13.     {
    14.      
    15.         if(PlayerLooking)
    16.         {
    17.             Debug.Log("TreeScript succesfully raycast");
    18.         }
    19.         if (PlayerLooking && Input.GetMouseButtonDown(0))
    20.         {
    21.             if (ChopReset)
    22.             {
    23.              
    24.  
    25.                 if (Time.time > ChopResetCooldown)
    26.                 {
    27.                     float ChopResetCooldown = Time.time + ChopCooldown;
    28.                     TreeHealth -= 1;
    29.                     ChopReset = false;
    30.                     Debug.Log(ChopResetCooldown);
    31.                     Debug.Log(Time.time);
    32.                     Debug.Log("Tapped 1");
    33.                 }
    34.  
    35.              
    36.  
    37.  
    38.             }
    39.             if (Time.time > ChopResetCooldown)
    40.             {
    41.              
    42.                 ChopReset = true;
    43.              
    44.             }
    45.         }
    46.         if(TreeHealth == 0)
    47.         {
    48.             Destroy(gameObject);
    49.         }
    50.     }
    51.  
    52.  




    when i play in the editor , even though time.time is less than chopresetcooldown the if function still plays
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2022
  2. MelvMay

    MelvMay

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 24, 2013
    Posts:
    8,618
    Can you please edit your post to use code-tags and not plain-text which is extremely hard to read.

    I'd also suggest, in placement for asking others to try to debug your code remotely, it's worth following this guide that tells you how to best debug stuff yourself; it's an essential skill that'll make your dev like so much easier. :)
     
  3. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    29,758
    Welcome to debugging! Here is how to debug your code:

    Look closer at your code, you are making a local variable with the same name as an instance variable. You should not do this. But since you failed to format your code I cannot even tell you what line it is on, alas.

    If you post a code snippet, ALWAYS USE CODE TAGS:

    How to use code tags: https://forum.unity.com/threads/using-code-tags-properly.143875/

    You may edit your post above.

    If my guess isn't correct, you must find a way to get the information you need in order to reason about what the problem is.

    What is often happening in these cases is one of the following:

    - the code you think is executing is not actually executing at all
    - the code is executing far EARLIER or LATER than you think
    - the code is executing far LESS OFTEN than you think
    - the code is executing far MORE OFTEN than you think
    - the code is executing on another GameObject than you think it is
    - you're getting an error or warning and you haven't noticed it in the console window

    To help gain more insight into your problem, I recommend liberally sprinkling
    Debug.Log()
    statements through your code to display information in realtime.

    Doing this should help you answer these types of questions:

    - is this code even running? which parts are running? how often does it run? what order does it run in?
    - what are the values of the variables involved? Are they initialized? Are the values reasonable?
    - are you meeting ALL the requirements to receive callbacks such as triggers / colliders (review the documentation)

    Knowing this information will help you reason about the behavior you are seeing.

    You can also supply a second argument to Debug.Log() and when you click the message, it will highlight the object in scene, such as
    Debug.Log("Problem!",this);


    If your problem would benefit from in-scene or in-game visualization, Debug.DrawRay() or Debug.DrawLine() can help you visualize things like rays (used in raycasting) or distances.

    You can also call Debug.Break() to pause the Editor when certain interesting pieces of code run, and then study the scene manually, looking for all the parts, where they are, what scripts are on them, etc.

    You can also call GameObject.CreatePrimitive() to emplace debug-marker-ish objects in the scene at runtime.

    You could also just display various important quantities in UI Text elements to watch them change as you play the game.

    If you are running a mobile device you can also view the console output. Google for how on your particular mobile target, such as this answer or iOS: https://forum.unity.com/threads/how-to-capturing-device-logs-on-ios.529920/ or this answer for Android: https://forum.unity.com/threads/how-to-capturing-device-logs-on-android.528680/

    Another useful approach is to temporarily strip out everything besides what is necessary to prove your issue. This can simplify and isolate compounding effects of other items in your scene or prefab.

    Here's an example of putting in a laser-focused Debug.Log() and how that can save you a TON of time wallowing around speculating what might be going wrong:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/coroutine-missing-hint-and-error.1103197/#post-7100494

    When in doubt, print it out!(tm)

    Note: the
    print()
    function is an alias for Debug.Log() provided by the MonoBehaviour class.
     
  4. driceyz

    driceyz

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2021
    Posts:
    6
    thanks
     
  5. driceyz

    driceyz

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2021
    Posts:
    6
    thanks you so much
     
  6. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    29,758
    Ah, now that you have line numbers, line 27 is declaring a brand-new shiny variable, NOT using the class one you think it is. Fix that.