Search Unity

Please help a beginner

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by RoboticCoder, Apr 5, 2015.

1. RoboticCoder

RoboticCoder

I'm working on first game and I need help. I just created a basic terrain with a couple trees and mountains, you know, the basics. Then I wanted to add in a character. Well when I try to add the asset it gives me an error message saying the tree couldn't be instanced because the prefab contains no valid mesh. Please help me because I have no idea what to do and I've been trying to find fixes for this, but everywhere I went said things I didn't understand because I'm just a beginner.

orionburcham likes this.
  2. orionburcham

orionburcham

The ugly truth here is that you may have to slow down for a bit while you learn what those things mean. Everyone here has had the experience of just starting, and looking for help online, only to hit a wall of not understanding a single word on the help sites/forums.

My advice would be to take a breather and put your current character goal on the shelf for a second. Commit yourself to spending the next hour/week just looking up the terms you don't understand on those sites. Chances are you'll learn a lot more than just the answer you needed, which can be incredibly valuable in the future. It can also speed up future cases of looking for help.

Best wishes!

Gigiwoo, cod3r, angrypenguin and 2 others like this.
  3. randomperson42

randomperson42

4. Whippets

Whippets

It seems like a mountain at first, but keep at it, things will start to fall into place. As you go through tutorials, it will probably also give you some great ideas as well :)
    Welcome to Unity

Gigiwoo likes this.
  5. TimeTravellingBananas

TimeTravellingBananas

Add me on skype if you want pretty new myself only a few weeks in but ill try to help.

timetravellingbananas

angrypenguin likes this.
  6. elmar1028

elmar1028

He is not asking for where to start. All he wants is a solution to that issue.

7. orionburcham