Search Unity

Playmaker worth it for experienced programmers?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by pateras, Feb 13, 2013.

1. pateras

pateras

I've been a professional developer for 6 years, I know C# inside and out, and though I'm new to Unity, I have no problem writing scripts to accomplish things. Only a few hours in, my game is progressing nicely, but, like most people, time is my most precious commodity, so I'm open to anything I can do to expedite things.

The reviews for Playmaker speak for themselves, and I'm considering grabbing it while it's $45, but it's a product that sells itself as an alternative to knowing how to code. Some of the reviews speak to it being a boon to experienced developers. Can some people here weigh in as well? Is it worth it if programming is your wheelhouse?

Thanks.

Last edited: Feb 13, 2013
  2. Aiursrage2k

Aiursrage2k

Well I think its more for artists or people who cant program if you watch etsskis video about qube it was made using UDKs visual scripting language, they made the whole game without any programmers.

3. StefanoCecere

StefanoCecere

i bought it when it was on sale... opened it twice and i think i'll never use it. it's much faster for me to code.
    anyway i'll keep it for my son when he'll want to start developing a game :)

4. PixelsFromSpace

PixelsFromSpace

I wouldn't describe it as an alternative to knowing how to code. You can get so far using just PM and little coding knowledge but the more code you know the better the output will be. I'm a very average coder, more of a 'designer' and my major downfall is keeping things organised.