Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Playmaker vs. Game Creator vs. Bolt

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Vengusta95, Apr 23, 2020.

1. Vengusta95

Vengusta95

For seasoned experienced devs and all that know a lot about assets, whats your take on those 3 assets? I really want to take advantage of the current sale and start a project. If I could get some points for and against and your personal recommendations, I would appreciate it.

My situation: I'm not a beginner w/ Unity and coding ( I also do android/web dev ) but would like to minimize it as I don't particular enjoy coding in games.

p.s. if there's any other asset you would strongly recommend, I wouldn't mind hearing about it.
    Thanks.

LittleSY and hopetolive like this.
  2. MrIconic

MrIconic

I really like Bolt.
    >Runtime editing.
    >Automatic creation of blocks (after telling Bolt what namespaces/types to look at).
    >Ludiq and those who support him on Discord are an invaluable resource to him and us day-in and day-out.

Playmaker can be easier and nicer to use (when you have the blocks you need) as everything feels polished. That comes a lot from the actions being pre-created and you string them together. Therefore, it's much easier to create something that simply just works. This can also make performance better at times because you're less likely to create a complex system that breaks down due to your own integration of actions.

The problem is, eventually you'll want to branch out from the pre-existing actions in Playmaker. You'll either have to hunt around for integrations or code your own. In Bolt, you can put the script in the list, press go, and it's done.

I bought Game Creator but have not used it yet. I personally plan on using Game Creator and Bolt together.

3. Vengusta95

Vengusta95

Thanks for replying.