Search Unity

PlayMaker errors.

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Trokko, Jun 28, 2019.

  1. Trokko

    Trokko

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    I just paid $73 for the PlayMaker asset.
    It downloads ok, but when I install it, I get a bunch of errors.
    Ex: "Assets\PlayMaker\Actions\GUIElement\SetGUITextureColor.cs(14,15): error CS0311: The type 'UnityEngine.GUITexture' cannot be used as type parameter 'T' in the generic type or method 'ComponentAction<T>'. There is no implicit reference conversion from 'UnityEngine.GUITexture' to 'UnityEngine.Component'.",

    Please tell me that there's a fix for this. Otherwise I just waster $73.

    I'm using Unity 2019.3.0a5. Tried with older installs as well but to no avail.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. kdgalla

    kdgalla

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Posts:
    1,437
    The a in the version number means that you are using an "alpha" release of Unity. "alpha" basically means it's not finished yet. Assets from the AssetStore don't typically support alpha releases.

    You should try switching to an official stable release. It will not have an "a" or "b" in the version number.
     
  3. Trokko

    Trokko

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    I get the same errors with 2017.4.29f1 and 2018.4.2f1.
     
  4. kdgalla

    kdgalla

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Posts:
    1,437
  5. Alex-Chouls

    Alex-Chouls

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    2,322
    You should only get that error in Unity 2019.3.0a5 since the old GUIElement system is being removed in 2019.3. We will have a fix for that, but we generally wait for the release to get to beta, since alpha versions can change significantly before reaching beta.

    Not sure how you would see this error in 2018.4. Are you sure you're launching that version?
     
  6. Trokko

    Trokko

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    I managed to get rid of the problems after uninstalling all versions of Unity I had, clearing the residual folders/files and reinstalling 2019.1.8f1. Now it works. :)