Search Unity

  1. New Unity Live Help updates. Check them out here!

    Dismiss Notice

Playing alembic sequence from timeline

Discussion in 'Timeline' started by manran, Nov 16, 2017.

  1. manran

    manran

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Posts:
    34
    Hi guys i'm trying to import alembic animations files but i cannot find any tutorial on how to play it from the timeline editor for cinematic. Anyone have an idea please? Thanks
     
  2. manran

    manran

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Posts:
    34
    no answer :(
     
  3. seant_unity

    seant_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Posts:
    1,194
    Are you using the alembic custom track from here?
     
  4. Poxter

    Poxter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    I am interested too, I having the same trouble. I checked your link but I didnt understand how use those scripts. Please could you tell how to make it?
    Thanks
     
  5. jasonm_unity3d

    jasonm_unity3d

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2017
    Posts:
    41
    step one: import an alembic file using the importer (just drop an abc file in assets directory or manual import throught "Import New Asset" menu item"). Make sure that the importer's setting "Import Mode" is set to "AutomaticStreamingSetup"
    step two: drag/drop imported prefab into scene.
    step 3: create time line asset, and drop it in the scene.
    step 4: select the timeline object and open the timeline editor
    step 5: click "add" button and select utj.Alembic.Alembic Track
    step 6: right click on track and select add alembic shot asset clip
    step 7: select added clip, in inspector of the clip, "Stream Player" d&d the alembic prefab from the scene onto this field

    from here, you should now be able to scrub the animation from the timeline and see the scene update your alembic asset.
     
    Stormakt and manran like this.
  6. Poxter

    Poxter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    Thank you so much Jason, Its works!

    Seems I didnt step 7 :p I thought was automatically assignation.

    I using timeline to "fix" alembic lag. There is kind delay between animation joint and alembic (seems There not goes same FPS), I thougth I try to control FPS from timelime editor for each system (alembic and joints) Is a crazy idea or has sense?

    Many thanks for your help
     
  7. manran

    manran

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Posts:
    34
    Thank you, problem solved :)
     
  8. Rlapham

    Rlapham

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks for this - I have my alembic file working in the editor with timeline, but I build it I'm running into a plugin error:

    Plugin 'abci.dll' is used from several locations:
    Assets/UTJ/Alembic/Plugins/x86/abci.dll would be copied to <PluginPath>/abci.dll
    Assets/UTJ/Alembic/Plugins/x86_64/abci.dll would be copied to <PluginPath>/abci.dll
    Please fix plugin settings and try again.

    If I remove/rename one of the plugins, the .dll reference is shown as missing in Xcode. It appears to need both but runs into this conflict. Has anyone had a similar issue?

    (my architecture's Universal and the scripting backend is IL2CPP)
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Stormakt

    Stormakt

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Sorry to ask what is likely a dumb question, but where is the "importer's settings?" When draging in an abc or going "Import new Asset" I am missing something.

    Thank you,

    Max.
     
  10. Stormakt

    Stormakt

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Just wanted to clarify further:

    I can seem to do every other step here fine. It's just the "automatic streaming setup" that I am unable to find. I believe it should look like this image:

    Which is from the github page: https://github.com/unity3d-jp/AlembicImporter/blob/master/Screenshots

    However the only thing close I can see is on the .abc file imported into unity from the inspector. The options there read as:

    Normals: Compute if missing
    Tangents: Compute
    Camera Aspect Ratio: Camera aperture
    Scale Factor: 0.01
    Swap Handedness (checked)
    Interpolate Samples (checked)

    Mesh Options expanded menu
    Swap Face Windin (unchecked)
    Turn Quad Edges (unchecked)
    Import point Polygons(checked)
    Import Line Polygons(checked)
    Import Triangle Polygons(checked)
    Components expanded menu
    Import Xform (checked)
    Import Camera (checked)
    Import Poly Mesh (checked)
    Import Points (checked)

    Time range

    If I can find that menu for the mode to be set to AutomaticStreamingSetup, I'm sure it will work. Everything else has allowed me to at least play the game, exit out, and find that the mesh has changed position/rotation letting me know that the cache is affecting the mesh, just not streaming.

    Save me unity answers, you're my only hope.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. nilrith

    nilrith

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    you may click clone this plugin. it not work for me ether.
    click download "Latest package: AlembicForUnity.unitypackage" in README panel.
    or follow this video

    hope it work !
     
  12. araz01

    araz01

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Posts:
    53
    its such a Mission lol
     
  13. araz01

    araz01

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Posts:
    53
    NOOO! 90mb... NOOOO! there is no other way to play my animations... IM DOOOOOOMED
     
unityunity