Search Unity

Resolved Players can stuck hands in obstacle to float in air

Discussion in 'Open Projects' started by Megatank58, Oct 3, 2020.

1. Megatank58

Megatank58

Starting of this Issue.

2. cirocontinisio

cirocontinisio

I created a card for it

Just be aware that this is going to be a though one, since it involves the character controller and we don't want to introduce too many crazy hacks in there.

3. gabriellcarpes

gabriellcarpes

Hello all, my name is Gabriel Carpes. I'm a web developer from Brazil new to Unity and Game programming and development.

I chose to work on this bug because it's not a top priority issue and since I don't have much experience in the area I thought it would be a good way to start. I made some small research into the issue but still couldn't allocate too much time to work on it (I hope to make it up to it during the weekend).

I'll keep this thread updated as I move forward and I also welcome any tips. I work mostly with Javascript on my day to day work so C# and Unity are new things for me.

4. MileyUnity

MileyUnity

5. hemanthvanam

hemanthvanam

I think its better to fix this after we fix the climb issue bug as that fix will most probable change the character movement script if not later this will cause merge conflicts.

Also there are many PRs for that issue some of which involves (eg: PR) finding the slope angle at the point of contact for the player. We can use that slope angle to make the player fall down if it is below certain angle that will solve this issue.
    This is just a suggestion as I have already experienced with merge conflicts in github.

6. gabriellcarpes

gabriellcarpes

Hello, I thought he was working on the other reported bugs (There are two from what I see on CodePen). There's "Player gets stuck in mid-air" and "Player can climb steep surfaces"
    upload_2020-10-3_11-49-59.png

Last edited: Oct 3, 2020
  7. Megatank58

Megatank58