Search Unity

Player colliding with moving object

Discussion in 'Physics' started by chevelle_wohr, Sep 18, 2019.

1. chevelle_wohr

chevelle_wohr

I've posted this question under scripting already, but I'm not entirely sure its a problem with my script. So just in case I'll post my problem here including my videos that show my problem. I would really appreciate any feedback and help, because I cannot find a solution anywhere to this problem, and I'm hoping its just a box that needs to be checked...
    As you can see in the videos, when I move my player controller to the moving pick up object, my player is pushed downward and out of the map. When I jump on the animated platform I am again pushed out of the area from where I was originally standing.

2. Edy

Edy

How are you moving those objects? I have little experience with the Character Controller, but first I'd try to use kinematic rigidbodies in those objects and move them via Rigidbody.MovePosition / Rigidbody.MoveRotation from FixedUpdate.

Moving the Transform directly (using either transform.position / rotation or transform.Translate / Rotate) just "teleports" the object to its new position, which may cause collision issues.

Also, ensure the colliders of the moving objects are marked as Convex and assembled properly. In the case of the moving platform, you could use a scaled box for the base, then several scaled box colliders for the handrails.

chevelle_wohr likes this.
  3. chevelle_wohr

chevelle_wohr