Search Unity

Player class and code design.

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Derpnaut, Mar 22, 2018.

?

Best way to set up a Player class?

1. My private components alternative.

2. My public components alternative.

3. Some other alternative.

Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. Derpnaut

Derpnaut

Hello,

I have been using Unity for a few years now (only in an amateur fasion in personal and school projects), and I'm also currently studying IT at a university. When I now started to develop a new top-down rpg type game I came to struggle with how to design my player class. The two different ideas both involve the Player class being sort of an interface (not literally) between the different components of the player (inventory, stats, combat etc.) and whoever needs to use them (add an item, use a spell, buff the player...).

The first idea was to have the different components private and add methods for all the communication in the player (AddItem(), Buff()...) however I also realized this might lead to a very long Player class.

The other idea I had was to only have the player be a collection with public getters for all the different components ex:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. public Inventory { get; private set; }
    thus mostly bypassing the player, breaking the law of demeter (if I haven't completely misunderstood the principle) and generally I felt had the potential of leading to further problems down the line.

So my question is, what is the recommended way of setting up this type of a Player class, which one of these would you chose and or do you have any alternatives that might be better?

IndependentThinkers likes this.
  2. lordofduct

lordofduct

So I have what I call an 'Entity' class. It represents the root of a GameObject that is an entity (player, mob, etc).