Search Unity

  1. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Want more efficiency in your development work? Sign up to receive weekly tech and creative know-how from Unity experts.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Participate with students all over the world and build projects to teach people. Join now!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Build games and experiences that can load instantly and without install. Explore the Project Tiny Preview today!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

'Player' AnimationEvent 'NewEvent' has no receiver! Are you missing a component?

Discussion in 'Animation' started by Marsa-Palas, Mar 5, 2015.

  1. Marsa-Palas

    Marsa-Palas

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Posts:
    8
    I have a gameobject named "Player". I made new AnimatorController, added 2 Animations and put it to Animator component of my Player gameobject.

    I keep getting error
    'Player' AnimationEvent 'NewEvent' has no receiver! Are you missing a component?

    I've looked some earlier threads, and that didn't solve the problem.

    Unity version I'm using is the newest one, Unity 5.0 stable version.
     
    Daavlot likes this.
  2. Mecanim-Dev

    Mecanim-Dev

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    1,621
    You probably did add a Animation event named 'NewEvent' on one of your clip. But you didn't add the MonoBehaviour on your game object with a function to answer this event.

    Select your animation clip asset file and remove any event that shouldn't be there.
     
  3. Marsa-Palas

    Marsa-Palas

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Posts:
    8
    Please bear with me, I'm trying to see events in my animations, but when I click/double click on animation, it doesn't show animation window. I try to open Animation window from Window -> animation, but it only shows up window with no events.

    Just to mention that I'm using Animation clips from Survival shooter (Idle and Move)
     
    Daavlot likes this.
  4. Mecanim-Dev

    Mecanim-Dev

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    1,621
    Once you animation window is open, select you game object with the Animator component.
    Browse all the clip from you controller and look if one of them does have some animation event that are not setup correctly, simply remove them.
    animationevents.png
     
    Bratveja, thumt189, Molonha and 2 others like this.
  5. Marsa-Palas

    Marsa-Palas

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Posts:
    8
    Thank you for you answers!

    I tried to do what you showed, but I didn't get the list of events as you. There is some warning message in animation window. Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 8.13.46 PM (2).png
    I found events like this Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 8.14.20 PM (2).png
     
    ashawedoosra and thumt189 like this.
  6. Mecanim-Dev

    Mecanim-Dev

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    1,621
    Exactly, this was the next thing to try. If the clip is read-only then you need to look at the model importer and see if some animation event were added.

    The reason why you get this warning in the animation window is because you did check the Optimize Game object hierarchy for this asset in the model importer under Tab Rig.
     
    thumt189 likes this.
  7. Marsa-Palas

    Marsa-Palas

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Posts:
    8
    Yes, that's exactly the reason why it didn't show anything in Animation window, but I wasn't able to find Optimize Game Object option. Thank you again!
     
  8. Strasak

    Strasak

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    I had same problem... :D
    Thank you!
     
  9. Daavlot

    Daavlot

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Same problem with Survival Shooter (+1)

    But in the end, how should I remove this error? How can I uncheck Optimize Game Object? I don't really want to reimport, as that would override my whole work, wouldn't?

    Update: Actually, the game works perfectly despite the error message. Maybe I shouldn't bother, but the error message is just annoying me. Should I just leave it as it be?
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2016
    zixiang_ likes this.
  10. johnCordeiro

    johnCordeiro

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    The problem comes from a new event on the Zombunny's Idle clip. simply go to the Models / Characters folder and select Zombunny. in the inspector under animation tab / clips select the idle clip and expand events. Select the event on the time line and right lick and choose delete event.
     
  11. Jamy4000

    Jamy4000

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks guys, I was having the same issue, you're awesome !
     
  12. The-Britain

    The-Britain

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    713
    Hey thanks!
     
  13. OG_Jacob

    OG_Jacob

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Posts:
    10
    Thank you.
     
  14. kishore_1234

    kishore_1234

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    thank you so much
     
  15. pixels90211

    pixels90211

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Awesome,.. same problem here... only difference was that the event was in the Player Death event animation
     
    imcheney likes this.
  16. unity_DWqPTElXD3Yx_w

    unity_DWqPTElXD3Yx_w

    Joined:
    Thursday
    Posts:
    1
    thanks!