Search Unity

Play TimelineEditor from script

Discussion in 'Timeline' started by Charcolle, Aug 17, 2017.

  1. Charcolle

    Charcolle

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    I want to play TimelineEditor from my custom script.

    I update TimelineEditor.playableDirector.time and get EditorWindow of Timeline and repaint it every frame, however it did not work..
     
  2. seant_unity

    seant_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Posts:
    1,516
    Add the following calls:
    playableDirector.DeferredEvaluate();
    GameView.RepaintAll();
    SceneView.RepaintAll();

    The DeferredEvaluate will evaluate the timeline the next time the views are repainted.
     
  3. Charcolle

    Charcolle

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks, but It didn't work...

    Can I update TimelineEditor from code in the future version?
     
  4. seant_unity

    seant_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Posts:
    1,516
    Can provide some example code of what you are trying?
     
  5. Charcolle

    Charcolle

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    I'm sorry I found my code was bad. Finally, It worked.
    Thank you.
     
  6. entropicjoey1

    entropicjoey1

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    Posts:
    26
    How do you reference the playable timeline prefab thriugh code? I vant find info anywhere but i want to achieve starting the timeline or playable through code aswell
     
  7. entropicjoey1

    entropicjoey1

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    Posts:
    26
    Nvm..what i was looking for is using unityengine.playables etc etc ^^