Search Unity

Audio Play Same Audio Clip From Two Audio Sources (speakers)?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by devotid, Apr 10, 2019.

1. devotid

devotid

I am building a carnival with rides and all of them have a few speakers on the rides platforms. I have tried setting up the audio sources to make it seem like it was coming out of each speaker but with only one audio source it just doesnt work or sound very good from a single central location.

What is the best way to get this sounding like its coming from multiple sources? I want the player to go around in a circle and hear the music get louder and fade and get louder again as they are going in a circle.

Should I use one playing source and just move it to each location through code as the player moves around? I could find nothing on this and I have been using Unity for almost a decade... lol.

Thanks for any advice.

2. Bosozuki

Bosozuki

I am by no means an audio expert but this is the solution I used.

Example:
    Two gameobjects in the scene
    Each have an audiosource
    Both of these audiosources point to the same clip

Quick and dirty solution
    You have a script on both of the game objects that has the following
    Code (CSharp):
    3. public AudioClip Sound_Effect_Clip_Loop;
    4. public AudioSource Sound_Effect_Source_Loop;
    6.     void Update()
    7.     {
    8.         if (Sound_Effect_Source_Loop.isPlaying == false)
    9.         {
    10.             Sound_Effect_Source_Loop.PlayOneShot(Sound_Effect_Clip_Loop);
    11.         }
    12. }
    The above code will check to see if the audio source on that particular game object is playing, if not then an instance of the audioclip will be created and player. Once the clip is over the process will repeat.

Creating the instance with playoneshot keeps the audioclips from interfering with one another.

The problem with this code is if you need to the two clips to be synced exactly