Search Unity

Play Mode: Webcam profile not found, camera missing, 'Flip Horizontally' flag won't work

Discussion in 'Vuforia' started by rAigner, Oct 17, 2017.

1. rAigner

rAigner

Hi,

Vuforia beginner here. I am currently trying to run my first project (ImageTargets from core samples) in Unity via Play Mode emulation. Basically, it is running but I'm failing in using a webcam. In the Vuforia Inspector, at the "Webcam" section, I have several cameras to choose from. Unfortunately, the most reasonable one does not show up, which in my case is a FullHD USB webcam (Microsoft LifeCam Studio, working without any issues with Skype, AMCap, etc.). Instead, I get "Kinect V2 Video Sensor", "Intel Realsense 3D Camera Virtual Driver" (not working) and two industry cameras I have attached at my system (also not working since I don't have DirectShow drivers installed for them). The only camera seeming to work is the RGB sensor of my Kinect V2, but it is flipped horizontally which might be the reason for the failing marker detection. I tried to check the "Flip Horizontally" checkbox, but it doesn't change anything, the image remains mirrored. In the Webcam section I can also see a hint "No webcam profile has been found for your webcam model: 'Kinect V2 Video Sensor'. A default profile will be used. [...] You can create a custom profile for your camera by editing '[myprojectpath]/Assets\Editor/QCAR/WebcamProfiles/profiles.xml'." After searching the Vuforia forums, I found a sample that actually tells me what such an xml file is supposed to look like. I tried to add entries for my cameras in order to e.g. get the Realsense camera to work, but the hint remains, Vuforia does not seem to find the profile file. I also found some posts suggesting different locations for the file, such as Assets/Vuforia/Editor and Assets/Vuforia/Editor/WebcamProfiles, but no luck.

A few questions come up:
    1) Any idea why my webcam is not found?
    2) Why does the Flip Horizontally option fail?