Search Unity

Assets Pixel Perfect Retro Game Tools (any interest?)

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by SiegfriedCroes, Nov 23, 2017.

1. SiegfriedCroes

SiegfriedCroes

Hello everyone,

I've been using Unity for quite a few years now and mainly make 2D pixel art/retro styled games with it. I was wondering if anyone in interested in an asset to easily render to a specific resolution (160x144 for a Game Boy styled game for example) and have that be scaled up to fit the screen with a few options (filtering, stretching,...). I'd also be interested to hear if there are any other pixel art/pixel perfect/retro game features you'd like to see in an asset like this. Thanks in advance :)

Here are a few gifs of the games I made/am working on:

2. sngdan

sngdan

Hi,

Not sure about the functionality of the tool, you would possible need to go in more details. There is something on the asset store already for pixel perfect scaling.

I am currently not doing anything in that style and would likely implement what I need myself. One thing I thought of when I did a retro game a while back, was screen wrap functionality, supporting unity physics - did not need it in the end, but that felt like an unresolved niche.

3. SiegfriedCroes

SiegfriedCroes

This post is mostly to see if there is any interest in any pixel art related tools. It would be a free asset btw, as I just want to help out anyone else wanting to make pixel art games :)

Do you perhaps have a link to that asset?

Aaah yes, I wanted to do the same for the planet game but couldn't figure it out. Definitely something to think about.

Thanks for your reply though :)

4. sngdan

sngdan

Traveling and writing from mobile.... I think the asset is called pixel perfect camera (by link sorry)

I think if you plan to release something for free, it changes the angle. I would assume anything that is a bit abstracted that worked for you could help someone... your games look very nice by the way