Search Unity

  1. We've closed the job boards. If you're looking for work, or looking to hire check out Unity Connect. You can see more information here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We're running great holiday deals on subscriptions, swag and Asset Store packages! Take a peek at this blog for more information!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Check out our Unite Austin 2017 YouTube playlist to catch up on what you missed. More videos coming soon.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Unity 2017.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The Unity Gear Store is here to help you look great at your next meetup, user group or conference. With all new Unity apparel, stickers and more!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Introducing the Unity Essentials Packs! Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Unity 2017.3 beta is now available for download.
    Dismiss Notice

Pixel-Perfect Dynamic Text - Support Thread

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by tonic, Feb 16, 2014.

  1. DanielSchmidt

    DanielSchmidt

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Not sure what the previous version specifically was, but in the files the copyright read "Copyright 2013-2015" so I'm assuming it was a version from 2015.

    Neither the Unity version nor the DT version was change close to the problem arising. We are developing for PC, Mac and Linux, and we're doing so on Windows 10, and Windows 8.1 computers. We haven't checked the problem on Mac and Linux in build yet, as we target Windows first.

    I'm uncertain whether it happens when changing any psd file, but I think it possibly could be the case, I'll make sure to test that.
    The problem happens less often in an actual build I believe, but recently we've seen the error in a build and this is why it's more important to us now finding a solution.

    Sadly I'm not allowed to send you the project it happens in as it's a company project, I suspect the issue is hard to replicate as well, so I'll see if I can export some kind of sample where the problem persists. However that is probably gonna be hard as well.

    So yeah I'll see what I can do for you in terms of some project files with the issue, and I'll see if any photoshop document can cause the issue.

    Edit: Oh and I should probably add, and this is something that is kinda weird and might contradict what I think the problem is, but we get the error consistently when rebuilding the scripts. So when ever a script is changed and unity starts compiling, the error is displayed.

    Cheers.
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2017
  2. tonic

    tonic

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Posts:
    334
    @DanielSchmidt Can you verify you are not having a separate inspector window open which is locked to a an instance of Dynamic Text? Script reloading in that case might cause the error.

    I wasn't able yet to replicate the issue, although I have weird problems with the exact Unity 5.4.0f3 (custom-selected fonts not even working properly with that Unity version in the example scene).

    The script-reloading also seems to trigger OnDisable...OnEnable, and I think I can make a change related to that to see if it might help. But it may take until next week I can return to work on this.
     
  3. tonic

    tonic

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Posts:
    334
    @DanielSchmidt I have a test build for you. But for some reason I can't start a private conversation in the forum with you. Can you please send a message to me, or alternatively send email to contact (at) strobotnik dot com.
     
  4. DanielSchmidt

    DanielSchmidt

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    I have thusly started a private conversation.

    Can you verify you are not having a separate inspector window open which is locked to a an instance of Dynamic Text? Script reloading in that case might cause the error.

    I don't believe any of us on the team do, but I do have two inspector windows open from time to time, usually I have them both but one not being in focus as seen on the image below. However it's not locked.

    [​IMG]

    We are using custom fonts, with custom materials (i.e. not the default font material, see image below) using custom shaders. This is due to using a blurring or masking system together with dynamic text at times.

    [​IMG]