Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Pitch black sides on objects

Discussion in 'Global Illumination' started by easyE, Sep 25, 2020.

1. easyE

easyE

I am extremely new to unity and I am working on my first project, my goal was building a simple level and then adding character with a first person view that can walk around and jump and maybe push around boxes, I had only just started building the level when I noticed that the sides of the shapes facing away from the directional lighting were pitch black to the point you could not see the color or texture at all. I do want the sides of shapes facing away from the directional lighting to be a bit darker but this is way to dark. These are not imported models they are just cubes that I added to the scene through unity so its probably not a import problem, also they also have this problem with no material on them. and in the tutorial I have been following this problem did not crop up in it, the sides of the cubes he placed that faced away from the directional lighting were only slightly darker. The unity version used in the tutorial is much older, the video was posted in 2015 but I have had no other problems with it so far. The version of unity I am using is (2019.4.11f1) even though its not the newest version it said it would have long term support so I was using that for my first small project, I have my reasons. I also got all the platform compatibility modules installed for it except for the ones for mobile devices. I also opened up a new project and it had the same problem. I have barely done anything yet, just added a few cubes, gave some a rigidbody component, made and given them materials and change the color of the light and strength of the shadows, so I don't think I somehow messed up the settings. Also when ever I make a new project the directional lighti