Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Picking data from Json file in custom editor?

Discussion in 'Immediate Mode GUI (IMGUI)' started by Olipool, Dec 4, 2017.

1. Olipool

Olipool

Hi all,

I am fairly new to custom editors and stuff so maybe I am lacking the right terms for a successful search. That's why I'm reaching out to you :)
    I want to store game data for a football manager game in Json objects for easy modification later on.

What I have:
    I have a class called CoachData which holds a List of Coach objects.
    I have a class called ClubData which holds a List of Club objects.
    Every Club has a field "coachName" which is a reference to the corresponding coach.name field in the Coach object. So it basically works like a foreign key in a database.

I have custom editor windows for loading, editing and saving the CoachData and ClubData in serialized Json format. I want to have a greater number of coaches than clubs, so integrating the coach into the club as a struct or so won't work.

The problem:
    When editing the Club I have to write the coachName carefully and be sure there is a Coach by that name so the Club can find the Coach object later on.

What I need:
    I really would like the text field where I enter coachName to be some kind of object picker, which shows me a list of available coaches by parsing the Json for the CoachData so I can only assign an existing Coach to a Club.

Is there any way to do that? The object picker could signal to the editor which Coach has been selected and I would then store the name in the Club.
    I read about custom editors, drawers, windows and stuff but need a pointer where to look because the terminology is a bit overwhelming atm :)

Thanks for your time and advice!

2. TonyLi

TonyLi

Hi,