Search Unity

Question Physics.Raycast or Physics.Linecast return false no matter what

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Pope_Goaty_Maximus_I, Sep 24, 2022.

1. Pope_Goaty_Maximus_I

Pope_Goaty_Maximus_I

I've been having trouble with this for a while now so I decided to just make it do a raycast whenever I pressed E so that I could see whether or not it worked, and no matter how many colliders I point it at it's always false. This is the line I'm using:

Debug.Log(Physics.Raycast(transform.position, transform.forward, Mathf.Infinity, 2, QueryTriggerInteraction.Ignore));

from my understanding it should send a raycast from the gameobject which i control from the direction my camera is facing and if i direct it at a collider it should be true, yet it never fails to be false.
    Does anyone think they might be able to help? I've been stuck on this for days, but I'm not that good at unity yet.

2. Chewbacca1234

Chewbacca1234

Hello,
    have you tried this
    Code (CSharp):
    1. Debug.Log(Physics.Raycast(transform.position, transform.forward));
    to make sure your layer mask is set up the correct way (not ignoring the particular colliders)?

3. MelvMay

MelvMay

Unity Technologies

In all that time did you look at the docs and the code example?

I only ask this because you're' specifying "2" as the LayerMask. That argument isn't described as a layer, it's a layer mask i.e. bit-mask. 2 in binary is bit 1 on only so you're asking to detect things on Layer 1. The code example even shows you that.

Add a public LayerMask field. Set it in the inspector and pass it instead.

Or to be honest, as the docs show, only specify the args that are mandatory i.e. pass original and direction.

4. Kurt-Dekker

Kurt-Dekker

And if this is in any way mysterious to you, STOP now and get familiar with how it works:

The difference between Layers vs LayerMasks:

https://forum.unity.com/threads/raycast-layermask-parameter.944194/#post-6161542