Search Unity

Question Physics - Moving shopping carts like in the real world - Is it possible?

Discussion in 'Animation' started by danielesuppo, Aug 28, 2022.

1. danielesuppo

danielesuppo

Hello all, I'm very new to Unity physics and I have a very annoying problem:
    I should be able to move a shopping cart inside another one, next to move both into a 3rd one, a 4th one, etc, just like if you were in a market and you tried to put all the shopping cart here and there in a row, and bring them back to their place.

Actually I've created a very very simple scene with a super stylized model, just for test purpose:

Ideally it should be quite easy to realize in several softwares, but in Unity it's becaming a nightmare, because:

1) The first challenge I had was to create a Concave collider for my super stylized shopping cart model:
    the "Mesh Collider", if it's not "Convex", does not support "RigidBody" if it's not "Kinematic".
    So in Blender I had to create the model, plus 4 boxes (left/right/front/top) just as colliders to use them as "Convex".
    Moreover I had to do a trick to put a "RigidBody" component on the Parent Gameobject (using a fake small plane), just to be able to activate the Physics in the hierarchy of the model o_O

2) Next, when I've applied a "Mesh Collider" to the collider boxes (created in Blender) the cage didn't retain the shape of the box.
    It's a too rough approximation with 5 vertices (instead of 8), so the real width of the boxes is not taken in account for collisions.
    I can't either use some "Box Collider" to replicate my model, since it's not possible to rotate them... :mad:

3) Anyway, I keep on my experiment.