Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Physics collisions and DestroyEntity performance

Discussion in 'Physics for ECS' started by venesectrixzero, Mar 24, 2022.

1. venesectrixzero

venesectrixzero

Hello,

I'm brand new to Unity and DOTS. I've been playing around with the systems, reading docs, and trying to understand the limits. I installed the 0.50 preview, and I'm wondering if I'm doing something wrong or if I'm at the limit already. I'm basically spawning 10k cubes in the air above a large flat surface (staggered around vertically and spread out). The "ground" is a static physics body with a Box physics shape component. All the 10k cubes are the same box physics shape and dynamic physics body. So when I test the game the cubes just fall to the ground and bounce around as expected.

I wanted to destroy the cube (entity) when it hits the ground, so here is my collision system:

Code (CSharp):
    1. [UpdateInGroup(typeof(FixedStepSimulationSystemGroup))]
    2. [UpdateAfter(typeof(StepPhysicsWorld))]
    3. [UpdateBefore(typeof(EndFramePhysicsSystem))]
    4. public partial class CollisionEventsSystem : SystemBase
    5. {
    6.     [BurstCompile]
    7.     private struct ProcessEvents : ICollisionEventsJob
    8.     {
    9.         [ReadOnly] public ComponentDataFromEntity<EnemyTag> allEnemies;
    10.         public EntityCommandBuffer ecb;
    12.         public void Execute(CollisionEvent triggerEvent)
    13.         {
    14.             if(allEnemies.HasComponent(triggerEvent.EntityA)) {
    15.                 ecb.DestroyEntity(triggerEvent.EntityA);
    16.             }
    17.         }
    18.     }
    20.     private StepPhysicsWorld stepPhysicsWorld;
    21.     private EndSimulationEntityCommandBufferSystem endECBSystem;
    22.     protected override void OnCreate()
    23.     {