Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. We have updated the language to the Editor Terms based on feedback from our employees and community. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Physics and NetCode support for custom transforms?

Discussion in 'DOTS Dev Blitz Day 2022 - Q&A' started by DreamingImLatios, Dec 8, 2022.

  1. DreamingImLatios

    DreamingImLatios

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Posts:
    4,006
  2. NikiWalker

    NikiWalker

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 18, 2021
    Posts:
    248
    Good news on this: The NetCode and Physics packages are dependent upon the Entities package, so any Entities Transform related changes (like double precision) must be compatible with Netcode out of the box. I.e. If it ships, you can expect it to be supported by both Physics and Netcode, unless explicitly stated otherwise.
     
  3. DreamingImLatios

    DreamingImLatios

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Posts:
    4,006
    That's not what I am referring to. I was referring to this comment:
     
    goncalo-vasconcelos and JesOb like this.
  4. NikiWalker

    NikiWalker

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 18, 2021
    Posts:
    248
    Ah, apologies. As far as I know, we don't have plans around abstracting the LocalTransform into an interface (or DOTS equivalent abstraction). I.e. If you made your own Transforms, you'd likely need to make local modifications to the NetCode package, as it would be hard/impossible for us to generalize. What we can do is document (and talk through) how we use Transforms.
     
  5. DreamingImLatios

    DreamingImLatios

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Posts:
    4,006
    I don't mind having to write custom systems, but if I have to explicitly modify the NetCode package internals (same for Physics), that's a problem.
     
    goncalo-vasconcelos and JesOb like this.
  6. JesOb

    JesOb

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Posts:
    1,083
    Can you make sure that NetCode and Physics only use one single transform component like final one that stores WorldTransformation/Matrix so any 3rd party transform solution will need only to fill this component to be compatible with other subsystems?