Search Unity

Third Party Photon PUN2 UI data in Quiz app not syncing from master to client completely?

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by murtaza_imrn, Jan 4, 2023.

1. murtaza_imrn

murtaza_imrn

I have a 2 player quiz game using PUN2 Photon in unity and I am just trying to sync both players lives string over the network for now which only gets sync from master to client and not the other way . I have followed all steps mentioned in the documentation , I am new to multiplayer could someone please help out in this maybe I am doing a basic mistake

-> I have Photon View Component on my canvas and a script which has its reference to send RPC call.
    -> while sending lives tring over RPC call I check if PhtonView.IsMine and while populating it for oponent UI text I am checking if (!Photon.isMine)

here is the code , please ignore the code quality for now I am just trying to sync first thing on PUN2 first then I will cleanup the code and make proper Data models and classes

PhotonView PV;

void Start()
    {
    Debug.Log("Level Started");
    PV = GetComponent<PhotonView>();
    }

void Update()
    {
    Timer();
    if(PV.IsMine)
    MPUIManager.Instance.Lives.text = "Your Lives : " + totalLives.ToString();
    }

public void UpdateLives(float lives)
    {
    PV.RPC("RPC_UpdateLives", RpcTarget.All, lives);
    }

[PunRPC]
    void RPC_UpdateLives(float lives, PhotonMessageInfo info)
    {
    if (!PV.IsMine)
    {
    Debug.Log("Other Users Lives are " + lives);
    MPUIManager.Instance.OtherLives.text = "Opponent Lives :" + lives.ToString();
    }
    }

I call the Update Lives function everytime a new Question is loaded and there I check again

void LoadRandomQuestion()
    {
    /// local functionality for populating questions here and m
    }

void MatchAns() called when a user selects any option
    {
    // functionality , if answer is wrong deduct 1 live and update on RPC
    if (PV.IsMine)
    {
    UpdateLives(totalLives);
    }
    }
    }