Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Third Party Photon : i just don't get it !

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by CloudFs, Jul 4, 2014.

1. CloudFs

CloudFs

hi guys i know that 90% of you will tell me that i'm a noob
    but what i really want to understand is if photon can allow players to make there own rooms
    and is the photon multiplayer free version allows only 20 players in all of the game or in just every room ?

'cause i want to make my fps a multiplayer fps but i'm afraid that i use photon than i can't go more than 20 players in the game

so what i'm trying to say is that i need something that allows alot of player like cs where player makes there own servers and play
    or like uber strike (made with unity) where you make a room and play ..

AistisV likes this.
  2. chrisall76

chrisall76

Go through the Photon example, it handles letting players make a room/join a room.
    The free version of photon is limited to 20 people per game. if your going for a fps and you want dedicated servers, your gonna have to pay (I don't know any solution that offers dedicated servers for 100% free).
    https://www.exitgames.com/en/PUN/Pricing

Now if you have players host there own servers, that would be different. I don't know which one of these are dedicated or not, but here's a chart on all well known networking solutions.
    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...FVGQWxUWW9Fdmk2RzNfa3hUZU90V1E&hl=en_US#gid=0

winkan likes this.
  3. CloudFs

CloudFs

So yoy mean that if i use photon i can make like 10 rooms nad have in each room 20 players ?? cith the free version ?

4. chrisall76

chrisall76

No, as in you can only have 20 players overall. at that point once 20 players are playing your game online no one else can join. For more players, you have to pay.

5. CloudFs

CloudFs