Search Unity

  1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Third Party Photon Big Message

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by Handsome-Wisely, Jun 26, 2015.

  1. Handsome-Wisely

    Handsome-Wisely

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Posts:
    102
    i make my photon server to translate message. my message is a little big. 30 kbyte ~ 100 kbyte. and i find when the message from client to sever, is quickly, very quickly. but from server to client. it is so slow, sometimes it is even timeout and disconnected!
    and i find the "PhotonServer.config" , it has a item:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. MaxMessageSize="512000"
    2. MaxQueuedDataPerPeer="512000"
    3. PerPeerMaxReliableDataInTransit="51200"
    4. PerPeerTransmitRateLimitKBSec="512"
    5. PerPeerTransmitRatePeriodMilliseconds="200"
    i change to:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. MaxMessageSize="5120000"
    2. MaxQueuedDataPerPeer="5120000"
    3. PerPeerMaxReliableDataInTransit="512000"
    4. PerPeerTransmitRateLimitKBSec="5120"
    5. PerPeerTransmitRatePeriodMilliseconds="2000"
    and reboost photon,but it is still slow.
    the doc says:

    PerPeerTransmitRateLimitKBSec

    The maximum amount of data (reliable AND unreliable) that can be sent in a second (in KB). This can be used to limit the amount of data that a peer can send. When the limit is reached further reliable data is queued and unreliable data is dropped. The default, 12, is a purely arbitrary value that has no meaning and has NOT been carefully calculated to be in any way special.

    i don't know how to make it work. who can tell me!
    thank you
     
  2. Handsome-Wisely

    Handsome-Wisely

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Posts:
    102
    and i make my test in local net. 100mb. net speed is not limit!
     
  3. tobiass

    tobiass

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Posts:
    3,062
    For which platform do you build your client and on which version does it run? Windows? Maybe Windows 7?