Search Unity

"Photo-realistic" quality rendering between Unity and Unreal 4

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DigitalAdam, Aug 13, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DigitalAdam

DigitalAdam

As an artist I'm on the fence here. I enjoy using Unity and the workflow is great; but when I look at the achieved rendering results between Unity and Unreal Engine 4, it's night and day. If you look at the Matinee Fight Scene from Unreal, it's incredible AND it's running real-time. Granted you need a decent PC to get good frame-rate, but still... If you casually browse their WIP or Released Projects forums you'll see amazing results, especially when it comes to rendering interiors.

There's a lot of great visuals in the Unity forums, but when it comes to the photo-realistic/cinemati look, I have not seen anything that comes close. I ask why can't Unity achieve the same? Physically Based Shaders and Image Based Lighting helps along with cube-map reflections, but what else is going on behind the scenes? Can anyone give me some incite and/or WIPs in the Unity forums that show the same level of rendering quality?

Thanks!

JDScholl likes this.
  2. StarManta

StarManta

Looking at the video of that scene, I don't see anything there that Unity can't do. Making a photorealistic scene like that is like 25% engine, 75% "spending forever and a day on the art assets". Serious production time and talent went into that demo.

3. DigitalAdam

DigitalAdam

I agree with the time spent on putting that demo together. Like I said, even browsing their WIP threads you'll see some amazing results. You mentioned that you don't see anything that Unity can't do. Do you have any examples or threads that I can check out?

4. StarManta

StarManta