Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Performance with Unity

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Shadowing, Jan 29, 2015.

1. Shadowing

Shadowing

Hey guys I am new to Unity. This is also my first game engine that I've used. When doing the space shooter tutorial I noticed if I add 100 asteroids it can start feeling not very smooth. I also can kinda notice it when only have 10 asteroids flying by. Seems to be the same on pc build or web player build.

I'm only using the trailer version of the software at the moment is that why? I would of thought a simple asteroid game would be flawless with lag? Sent the build to a friend he said the same thing.

Thanks for any replies.

2. Kondor0

Kondor0

You could download the Pro trial and execute the project with the Profiler running, that should indicate you what's consuming most resources.

I haven't tried that tutorial but I suggest that you also investigate about pooling. IIRC in the manual there are other tips about improving performance. Remember that there's no engine that can compensate for mistakes or lazy design, the programmer needs to be clever enough to use the resources available and nothing more.

3. Chris-Trueman

Chris-Trueman

One thing to remember about tutorials are that they are usually not performance oriented. I have found that most tutorials are not optimized unless its their focus. Trying to figure out why a tutorial is not performing very well can also help you be a better programmer.

angrypenguin likes this.
  4. JamesB

JamesB

Unity Technologies

Hey guys,