Search Unity

Performance question: Newer Unity versions versus Unity 3/4

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by LucasTeixeiraDEV, Jan 4, 2019.

1. LucasTeixeiraDEV

LucasTeixeiraDEV

The newer versions of Unity have better graphics performance than the older ones? or is just a classic case of ''more features, but more requirements too''? And theres any reson to use the older versions? sorry i'm quite new at Unity.

2. Antypodish

Antypodish

There are massive performance changes.
    Just to point one, among many, probably most significant, multithreaded PhysX.

3. LucasTeixeiraDEV

LucasTeixeiraDEV

Thanks for the Reply Antypodish, my project is basicly a Counter Strike 1.6 Dust 2 clone, with one bot, very very low poly count, the FPS is like 3k in the scene with Unity 4.3.0, when i converted to the latest version, using the Legacy Shaders, i get something like 800 FPS, I think that I dont have suficient data to determinante wich one is better, because my scene is almost empty, is like an 90's game, i dont have much experience so is good to see what the most experts think about the Unity now

4. Antypodish

Antypodish

I am far from being Unity expert. Just hobbyist.
    But if you thinking to do stuff with Unity forward onward, you would be best of grab any version of Unity from 2018.3 +.
    There are not only game performance improvements, but many productivity tools. Specially profiler, which is highly critical, if you looking at performance.

And general is good to keep up with latest tech, rather than stay with dinosaurs for extinction :D

5. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

If you are new to Unity you pretty much have no reason to use anything but the latest/greatest other than running the same version for some older tutorials.

Antypodish likes this.
  6. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape