Search Unity

Performance problem after upgrade to 2020.3.10f1 LTS

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by adamwilks, Jun 3, 2021.

1. adamwilks

adamwilks

Hi all,

I have been working on my first game independently for a couple of years and chose to stick to the LTS releases in the hope of minimizing the number of bugs and issues I might encounter.

Until recently I had been using 2019.4.14f1 and decided it was time to update to 2020.3.10f1 but after doing so I noticed a fairly big reduction in frame rate and an increase in frame time:

2019: 165FPS (6ms)
    2020: 88FPS (11ms)

After doing some reading I discovered that some things have changed in the way these stats are measured and so dived into the profiler to take a more detailed look.

2019:
    2019_profiler_cpu.PNG

2019_profiler_render.PNG

2020:
    2020_profiler_cpu.PNG

2020_profiler_render.PNG

Test scene:
    test_scene.PNG

As you can see in the screenshots it seems as though the tri count and vert count has increased, along with draw calls, and WaitForPresentOnGfxThread is taking nearly twice as long despite no changes to the test scene or any implementation details. I'm not yet GPU bound, but I fear that by the time I am done adding more content further down the line I will be.

Some details on the project:

* Aiming to target PC / Mac
    * Standard render pipeline and standard shader
    * Enabled GPU instancing on all materials in scene
    * Using deferred rendering for real time lighting
    * Single directional light and spot lights for street lights
    * Shadow casting turned off where not necessary
    * Using single texture atlas
    * No baked lighting as the scene is procedurally generated
    * Profiling performed on a fairly old test rig with a GTX 550 Ti

Loosing so much just to and LTS upgrade seems insane, so I could use a little guidance on what might be going on here.