Search Unity

Performance Hit When Using Animator Override Controllers (Unity 2D)

Discussion in '2D' started by DMK_YT, Sep 20, 2022.

1. DMK_YT

DMK_YT

Hey, I am developing a game where the player character swaps between multiple weapons throughout. Because of this, I opted to use the Unity Animator Override Controllers to swap between different spritesheets whenever a weapon is picked up or swapped out. However, because of the amount of things to animate (2 arm objects animated across 9 individual animations for each weapon), the performance of the game takes a hit occasionally when picking up/swapping between weapons.

Is there a method of improving the performance here? I am still fairly new to making games, and am not great at performance optimization yet.

Dawdlebird likes this.
  2. GonzoBonDonzo

GonzoBonDonzo

3. DMK_YT

DMK_YT

I do this for the most part in my scripts, it's just that when my animator is swapping between various animation overrides it can cause a huge uptick in memory usage (at least that's what I think is happening). The animation override controllers are kept inside a serialized private array in a script attached to the player, so I don't think it's trying to create an expensive reference to them each time

4. Lo-renzo

Lo-renzo

To get a better idea of what is the true source of the problem, you have to use the profiler, and ideally on a build b/c sometimes the Editor says slightly false information. https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/Profiler.html

Since you mention memory, you should also check the Memory Profiler: https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/ProfilerMemory.html

It is extremely difficult to speculate about performance problems, outside of trivial examples, without the aid of the profiler. When you post on the forums about performance, you should include screenshots from the profiler.

5. DMK_YT

DMK_YT