Search Unity

Performance friendly grid renderer

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by drew55, Mar 11, 2020.

1. drew55

drew55

Hi y'all,

I'm making a grid background drawer (similar to the Unity editor's grid shader) except that it's with dots instead of lines and currently looking at a non-shader approach for platform compatibility.

I've looked at a number of different approaches, and I think the best choice in terms platform compatibility and performance is to scale a lattice (a mesh) each frame and a the scale factor for each group. The idea is that its lightweight:
    (a) the mesh points are static (with only the scale factor changing), and
    (b) the texture is static and reused for the entire mesh.

I'm was astonished a quality grid asset isn't available in the Unity asset store as it's such a useful item, so I'm pledging that any help here will go into sharing a polished asset in the asset store. I'm an experienced 3D dev, but I've been learning Unity the last few months so I'm still new to many Unity design idioms.

So if you know Unity well and can suggest 1 or 2 approaches that preserve performance and platform compatibility, then I'm all ears. I'm expecting the best approach will be to make a runtime-generated mesh (of grid point positions) and when its set to a new scale, all that happens is the parent object is scaled.

The other area of operation is billboard (vs xzPlane 2D texturing) for each dot. It will be consistent for all points, but it'd be nice to offer a billboard vs xzPlane, etc option. Last but not least, per "sprite" point needs to be constant screen size. This means that for each point on the mesh, a scaling factor needs to be computed so that point's size remains independent of world and camera positioning. Sure, this can be done with stuff like `Camera.WorldToViewportPoint`, but that's costly and requires per-point edits (which will kill performance if it's not smartly batched, etc).