Search Unity

Games (PC) Train World - railroad tycoon on a huge map

Discussion in 'Projects In Progress' started by Dimetrock, Oct 21, 2022.

1. Dimetrock

Dimetrock

About me

My name is Dmytro, I am from Ukraine, and I've been a game developer for over 10 years. In the beginning, I worked on mobile games. Later I worked for the company focusing on interactive displays and various interactive solutions. For the past two years, I've been working on my own project Train World. I do enjoy transportation games a lot and always wanted to make one. I focused on one problem that always kept me frustrated - lack of space, and I addressed this in my game.

Idea

Train World has a large map. At the moment test map is over 38 000 square kilometers. Enough space to build the train network of your dreams. The other major aspect is the ability to operate trains that are 100 cars long.

Gameplay

The map is divided into regions. Each region has a capital some number of cities and industries. Build the railroad, connect industries and cities, and transport cargo and passengers. As soon as all the requirements are met you will be able to open more regions, discover new biomes/territories/cool places and expand your network.

There is no strict connection to the timeline. Play at your own pace. You start with trains of the mid-nineteenth century and progress via a tech tree. In the tech tree, you will be able to unlock more new trains and wagons.

There will be 3 eras. Each has its unique style which will be visible in the cities. You will be able to progress to the new era by reaching it in the tech tree.

Also, there will be a tasks system that will generate random tasks for you to complete and get nice bonuses.

Graphics and style

I would call this low poly with hi-res textures and a hint of cartoonish look. I have only two levels of LOD for trees on purpose. I believe this gives it a nice touch.

Status

The game has a page on Steam. The planned release is sometime in 2023.