Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

PC Maya and Unity

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by bigbrainz_legacy, Apr 2, 2006.

  1. bigbrainz_legacy

    bigbrainz_legacy

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Posts:
    137
    I'm working through my test of Unity, but can't get any Maya stuff to work. We're a PC outfit that has PC licenses of Maya. I thought I could just export the Maya files from the PC into Unity, but it's complaining that it won't work. So I tried installing the PLE version, but it says it can't convert it to .fbx format. Am I doing something wrong (being a total Unity nooby) or is it simply a requirement that I get a Mac license of Maya to use Maya with Unity?

    Thanks!
     
  2. guategeek_legacy

    guategeek_legacy

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Posts:
    659
    You could always export FBX insted of using the maya .mb file. Jeff
     
  3. antenna-tree

    antenna-tree

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Posts:
    5,324
    Maya needs to be installed on the same computer as Unity for the batch FBX exporter to work. Unity uses that exporter to parse the files. From what I understand you can use the free Maya PLE version installed on the Unity Mac computer and the exporter will work. Or yes, just export them as FBX, but being able to just bring in your .mb files is really nice.
     
  4. bigbrainz_legacy

    bigbrainz_legacy

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Posts:
    137
    The first thing I tried was installing the PLE version on the Mac. Without it, I got the error, "Maya not found." With PLE it said it couldn't convert it to .fbx. We haven't upgraded our copies of Maya in a while, but I'm hoping I can still get an .fbx exporter that will work with 4.0 or 5.0.
     
  5. antenna-tree

    antenna-tree

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Posts:
    5,324
    Hmmm, I thought the PLE would do the trick, sorry about that. So you're using 4.0 - 5.0? Can you upgrade the FBX plugin from Alias' website to work with these earlier versions? I know they just put out a new one in the last couple of months. I'd try the FBX export from PC now and see if that will work.
     
  6. socksy

    socksy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    244
    The PLE will not work, but the demo of the full version will, with the only problem being that you still have to model on the PCs.