Search Unity

Pc for Unity

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by ChillArtGames, May 12, 2020.

1. ChillArtGames

ChillArtGames

Hi guys!
    I'm new to Unity, i was trying to use it on my old pc, but my old pc wasn't able to run it properly.
    As a neophyte, i wanted to use unity for mobile games developing (mainly 2d projects, and some ''light'' 3d projects).
    I'm buying a new pc, but i'm not so sure about the specs (expecially GPU).
    After some research, i found this pc, but i'm not sure if it can handle Unity decently.

Notebook HP Pavilion 15- 15-cs3019nl 7VT72EA

https://laptop-hunter.com/notebook-hp-pavilion-15-15-cs3019nl-7vt72ea-blue-21991.html

Processor: i7-1065G7 1.3 GHz - 3.9 GHz quad core 10th gen
    RAM: 16 GB DDR4-SDRAM
    Internal storage: 512 GB SSD NVMe,PCI Express
    GPU NVIDIA® GeForce® MX250 4 gb

This is my first post on this Forum; thank you in advance for your help

2. Ryiah

Ryiah

One important thing to understand about Unity is that it's system requirements scale according to the tasks you want to accomplish with it. For the games you want to create the laptop will be just fine. That said I want to make it clear to you that HP is one of those companies where you pay a premium for the brand rather than good hardware.

I recommend the following laptop. An ASUS TUF A17. It's processor has twice the core count which can help with tasks like baking lighting for your game and generating the shader variants used by the engine. For everything else it's about tied with the laptop you selected.

One of the most important differences is that the ASUS TUF A17 has a GTX 1650 GPU which is far more powerful than the MX250 in the HP. While you might not need it now for the games you want to create now you will have more performance to grow into with if your interests change.