Search Unity

PBS in Unity 5.0 how does it affect current shader paradigm?

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by garrettstrobel, Jul 30, 2014.

1. garrettstrobel

garrettstrobel

Hello All,
    I am very new to the idea of developing shaders in Unity. I am wondering if it is worth my time now learning what is out there now as far as Surface Shader language, or if things will change so dramatically that it would be better to wait to learn shader programming after 5.0 release?

I know people say it is always worth learning something but if it is all changing with PBS I would rather wait.

Thanks for your input!

2. Noisecrime

Noisecrime

Go ahead and start learning surface shaders as nothing will change with PBS.

PBS is as far as I can tell simply going to be an 'uber-shader' that supports all the key points of physically based shading. As such it wont be a surface shader, but like any other shader that you want to support lighting and dynamic shadows it will use all the underlying structure of Unity shader design.

What I mean is that Unity provides a structure that you must support in order for shaders to work as expected in forward rendering, deferred rendering, or adding dynamic shadows. Although you can also simply write vertex/fragment shaders too, but there its up to you to support multi-lights, shadows etc.This is accomplished through shader 'passes', so you'll have 'Base forward pass', 'Additive forward pass' (called for every additional pixel light that affects the mesh), 'Deferred Pass', 'Shadow Caster pass' & 'Shadow Collector pass'. On top of this you can have specific lighting functions in surface shaders and many other options.