Search Unity

"Pausing" Timeline Playback

Discussion in 'Timeline' started by aki_null, Jun 1, 2017.

1. aki_null

aki_null

Hi,

I'm new to Unity, and I'm currently examining the Timeline and Cinemachine on b7.

I've come across a situation where I want to "pause" the Timeline at the end of a custom PlayableBehaviour I'm making.
    The use case of this would be that the user is asked to interact with the game in middle of a Timeline through GUI (which I do not have a control over how long this can take), while letting Cinemachine still control the camera.

I'm having a problem implementing such PlayableBehaviour, because there are several issues:
    • Invoking Pause API on PlayableDirector causes Cinemachine's behaviour to release camera override, which resets the camera. The same can be said about animation track.
    • PlayableDirector has timeUpdateMode field which appears to let me pick Manual update mode, but I cannot find any information on "PlayerController.Tick" that is mentioned in the documentation.
    • Overwriting PlayableDirector's time field every frame lets me pause the PlayableDirector in a way I want (i.e. does not cause Cinemachine to release camera override), but it is not possible to lock this time before the Timeline execution goes past the end of custom behaviour. This means that game has already rendered one step ahead by the time OnBehaviourPause is invoked on custom behaviour, which is too late for me to revert the PlayableDirector's time field to the end of custom behaviour.
    After doing all of the above, I've really started thinking that maybe I'm missing some critical knowledge on how Timeline works, or is Timeline not supposed to be used for things like this?

Chambers88 likes this.
  2. julienb

julienb

Unity Technologies