Search Unity

Pathfinding

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by alexkring, May 5, 2011.

1. alexkring

alexkring

Hey! I'm planning on releasing a pathfinding package, and I wanted to get some input from you guys. What sort of features do you want out of a pathfinding system?

First, let me give a brief background on myself. My name is Alex Kring, and I've been working in the games industry for about 4 years, working mostly on AI. I've shipped 4 games under The Sims franchise, and one game for the Sony Move. More recently I've been working on Resistance for the NGP. This past year I gave a talk on pathfinding at the GDC, I presented a pathfinding research paper at the AIIDE at Stanford, and I have several publications on pathfinding with AiGameDev [1] [2].

The focus of this package will be to do one thing really well: pathfinding. It will not handle path-smoothing, steering, or terrain representation (though it will come with an example project that uses a grid representation and simple steering). I find that all of theses features heavily depend on the project you are working on. The package will be setup so that you can easily integrate your existing steering system and terrain representation.

Here are the features I plan on supporting:
    • A* pathfinding
    • User-defined terrain representation (ex: waypoint, nav mesh, grid)
    • User-defined A* heuristic (ex: euclidean distance, manhattan distance)
    • User-defined target (ex: position, game object)
    • Load-balancing (the user defines the number of A* cycles to solve per frame, and per planner)
    • Re-plan rate (set a float value that determines the number of seconds before a path will be re-planned, since some game worlds are very dynamic).
    • Custom unity editor that displays debug visuals, performance, and maybe some sort of testing?