Search Unity

ParticleSystem.main.startSizeMultiplier expected behavior?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by ddf, Dec 7, 2016.

  1. ddf

    ddf

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Posts:
    54
    The way that I read this documentation (https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/ParticleSystem.MainModule-startSizeMultiplier.html) is that startSizeMultiplier will *scale* whatever the current startSize is. So if I have a particle system prefab with a startSize of 7 and I instantiate that and then set startSizeMultiplier to 0.5, I'd expect to see 3.5 in startSize when I select the instantiated particle in the hierarchy. But what I am seeing instead is startSize set to 0.5.

    Is this the intended behavior or is this a bug?
     
  2. L-Tyrosine

    L-Tyrosine

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Posts:
    294
    Same here. I guess it should be a multiplier and it is a bug.
     
  3. eastes

    eastes

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Posts:
    49
    Me three. I really need this to work as expected! It doesn't multiply at all. It does the same as startSize.
     
  4. PieterAlbers

    PieterAlbers

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Posts:
    140
    yeah - this is incorrect behaviour imo.
    It also doesn't multiply both values if you have it set up as "Random between two constants" only the max value.
     
  5. JLJac

    JLJac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Posts:
    30
    If you have a 3D start size it seems to only set *one of the axes* rendering it completely useless....
     
unityunity