Search Unity

Particlesystem 2D Collision Issue

Discussion in 'Physics' started by elephantatwork, Sep 15, 2017.

  1. elephantatwork

    elephantatwork

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Posts:
    4
    Hey there

    We're currently experiencing a weird bug with the 2D collision of particles.

    Issue
    When trying to collide with a Particlesystem in 2D Collisionmode, if you approach the system from the right side the collision behaves weirdly.
    Mostly it isn't recognized until you're colliding deeply but with playing with the radius scale you can get results which are more exact, but still random.

    Here's the issue in a video showing more exactly what happens:


    Did anybody see the same behaviour?

    best

    sam
     
  2. MelvMay

    MelvMay

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 24, 2013
    Posts:
    1,964
    It would be great if you could produce a bug report for this. First time I've seen anything like it.
     
    richardkettlewell likes this.
  3. DomDom

    DomDom

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Posts:
    32
    Small additon: It's happening in Unity 5.6.2p.

    Any Idea how we could create a workaround?
    (We are developing for consoles, so we might have to stick to this Unity version for some time)
     
  4. MelvMay

    MelvMay

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 24, 2013
    Posts:
    1,964
    I'd need to know what was wrong before I could offer a workaround. If we can get a simple reproduction case in a bug report.
     
  5. DomDom

    DomDom

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Posts:
    32
    @MelvMay Any update on this one so far?
     
  6. MelvMay

    MelvMay

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 24, 2013
    Posts:
    1,964
    I don't have an update because I don't have any bug report and have not heard anything else on it. Note that I don't work on the particle system itself so maybe there was a bug report sent to them and it's being looked at or dealt with perhaps. @richardkettlewell : Have you seen anything?
     
  7. richardkettlewell

    richardkettlewell

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,189
  8. elephantatwork

    elephantatwork

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Posts:
    4
    ROBYER1 likes this.
  9. ROBYER1

    ROBYER1

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Posts:
    347
    I get this same error with a different bug report submission, did you find a fix?
     
  10. Alexees

    Alexees

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    202
    Same here, just happened to me today. Once it was a timeout, the other try it was "Bad Gateway"