Search Unity

Particle System with Collisions

Discussion in 'Visual Effect Graph' started by JustAnotherRobot, Feb 9, 2021.

1. JustAnotherRobot

JustAnotherRobot

Hello everyone,

I am pretty new to Unity in general and haven't worked with the VFX graph yet. I did a bit of searching on the internet but am still unsure whether the VFX graph could be a suitable tool for what I want to achieve.

Basically the goal is to receive live data over the network and display it as a point cloud (e.g. from a kinect). The point cloud that is sent can change with time. Alternatively someone recommended me to use a voxelmap instead of a point cloud. I think the problem would be still the same or am I missing something gere?

The user should be able to interact with this point cloud. An example would be to place a box gameobject in the scene. I would want to detect a collision/overlap detection with the point cloud so that I know for example how many particles lie inside and which ones they are (position in the world) so I can do some further work on this.
    So I would need a particle-wise collision detection, right?

I found VFX graph in a youtube tutorial. They showed how well the performance is compared to the native other version (sorry I forgot its name) to do a particle system.

I saw some older posts, that back some time it wasn't possible to detect a collision with the particles or receive at least the position of a single particle of the vfx graph. Here are some examples:
    - https://forum.unity.com/threads/vfx-graph-collision.813231/
    - https://forum.unity.com/threads/particle-position-and-collision.919793/
    Is this still true? Or are there any workarounds?
    If it is impossible, do you have any recommendations how one could solve this?
    Thanks for any help in advance!

2. mba-nhyde

mba-nhyde