Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.

Question Particle System Force Field not working in AR

Discussion in 'AR' started by Blinxel_AR, Aug 10, 2021.

  1. Blinxel_AR

    Blinxel_AR

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Posts:
    59
    Greetings Programs.

    I've got a force field making particles swirl slowly around in a sphere.
    Works really well in editor.
    upload_2021-8-10_20-37-9.png
    As you can see the little green balls with the blue tails are swooping about nicely.

    When I put this into our Foundation based app, we see this-
    Screenshot_20210810-203837_Blink.jpg
    As you can see, the particle just zooms out of the center of the scene in the +Z direction, with no influence from the force field. The speed is faster and the orbit is gone.
    Anyone know why this might be the case?

    Android 11
    Unity version 2019.3.15f1
    Blink AR v2.13.1
     
  2. FrankvHoof

    FrankvHoof

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Posts:
    233
    This sounds like a scaling issue?
    Are you using WorldSpace or LocalSpace?
     
  3. Blinxel_AR

    Blinxel_AR

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Posts:
    59
    I believe I have the particles and the force field set to world space.
     
  4. Blinxel_AR

    Blinxel_AR

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Posts:
    59
    The emitter of the particles does re-orient itself to face the fwd direction of the AR object to which it is a child. This tells me that the world-space link is working for the emitter.
    The particles generated by the emitter are parents of the blue trail emitters. That works fine.
    And the green balls (proxies for later replacement) are emitting based on the orientation, location and scale of the overall parent AR content.
    However the force field is not having any effect on the particles on device.
     
  5. Blinxel_AR

    Blinxel_AR

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Posts:
    59
    We coded our own workaround to this.
     
unityunity