Search Unity

Parenting a camera to an empty game object doesn't work?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by justkittycat2000, Apr 21, 2021.

1. justkittycat2000

justkittycat2000

Hello everyone. I'm fairly new to Unity and these forms, so I apologize if I'm not doing this correctly. I'm trying to have a camera rotate around a small scene (a turn around basically) and I watched a tutorial that explains I can do this by creating an empty game object, resetting its transforms, and parenting the camera to the game object. I tried doing this, but even when I reset the transforms on the game object, the origin stays on the camera instead of the game object. If I unparent the camera, the origin of the game object goes back to the center again. I'm not really sure what I'm doing wrong? I hope I'm providing enough information to explain what I'm trying to do. If not, I'll try my best to explain further.

2. Schneider21

Schneider21

What origin are you referring to? Could you take a screenshot of the problem for us?

3. justkittycat2000

justkittycat2000

I'm sorry, I'm referring to the world origin. And yes.

game object.png
    Here you can see the origin of the game object is in the center of the world.

camera.png
    The origin of the camera is where the camera is located.

camera in game object.png
    But when I parent the game object to the camera, the origin stays where the camera is, instead of moving to the origin of the game object, which is the world center.

4. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

When you make an existing GameObject a child of another GameObject, it doesn't move the world space position of the new child object. It stays where it was. If you look at it's transform component, it shows you a new position relative to the parent though.