Search Unity

Question Papers, please like object superposition

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Dontmakemecodeplease, May 23, 2023.

1. Dontmakemecodeplease

Dontmakemecodeplease

Hi,
    So the problem is simple, In my 2D scene I have those 2 objects with a click and drag script attached to them. The game is heavily inspired by the papers, please UI, and so I want the same effect of when an object is clicked (to be dragged) it should be in front of all the objects in the scene and then when another object is clicked it should be put in front etc

I have a script that does that (written by chatGPT because I don't have time to learn to code right now, and to be clear I'm a total newbie and trying to understand what he writes is great for learning, for me at least) BUT the script he wrote checks for the highest sorting order value (not sorting layer) and adds 1 to this value every time the object is clicked : But if I click one object multiple times its sorting order value increases by 1 every time it's clicked like for example I click 23 times on an object then its sorting order value would be 23 and then if I click on another object in the scene the object will automaticly take the highest sorting order and add 1 so it will be 24 juste in one click.

The main idea of the game is to move objects around and I'm worried that after a long time the script wouldn't work anymore because the sorting order value would get too high.

My questions are :

Is it a real problem or maybe I shouldn't care about it? Because technically this works ...

How could I fix this, or maybe there is a better way to do this? I tried setting back the other objects sorting order value to 0 when one is clicked (so that the highest stays 1 and lowest 0, but then if I had say 5 objects, the four objects under wouldn't keep the order you placed them in and instead they would be reset to where they were when the scene started.

Here is the part of the script that maintain the object in front :