Search Unity

Feature Request Pain points with Aspects and IEnableable components

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by scottjdaley, Oct 31, 2022.

1. scottjdaley

scottjdaley

Finally got around to trying out the new Aspects and IEnableable features. I think these are some of the coolest new features added in 1.0. I'm still learning the best ways to use them, but I think they will allow me to clean up a lot of messy code. However, in its current form, there are some pain points that I hope will be ironed out in a future release. Some of these problems have already been brought up by others, but I wanted to share some additional thoughts on each.

Cannot use EnabledRefRO/RW + RefRO/RW for the same component in the same aspect.

If you have an IEnableComponent, you can only have the enabled bit or the data itself in the aspect, but not both. This seems like a bug as you would almost always want both the data and the enabled bit at the same time. You can kind of work around this by nesting aspects inside each other to get around the code gen check that spits out the error. Alternatively, you can separate the component into two, one as a flag that implements IEnableableComponent, and the other as a normal component holding the data.

Not sure if its possible, but I think I would prefer it if EnabledRefRO and EnabledRefRW had fields to read and write both the enabled bit and the data. Seems weird that we have to define two different fields for the same component.

More info about this problem in this thread: https://forum.unity.com/threads/how-to-use-enabledrefro-refro-in-the-same-iaspect.1347623/

Cannot use the [Optional] attribute on an EnabledRefRO/RW field in an aspect.

Codegen fails here when it tries to write the code for the lookup operation. The ComponentLookup type is missing overloads for GetOptionalEnabledRefRO and GetOptionalEnabledRefRW. Looking at the code, it seems like this is possible so perhaps it was just overlooked.