Search Unity

Pahoehoe Lava Texturing

Discussion in 'Made With Unity' started by aaron-parr, Apr 22, 2008.

1. aaron-parr

aaron-parr

I am working on a pahoehoe lava texture and I am attaching two of my first iteration. So far I am not happy with them. The ropy lava looks like it is under plastic wrap due to the terrain's geometry. The other looks too much like a photoshop experiment.

Per usual I am open to suggestions for improvement. I am a nooB at this stuff.

Attached Files:

2. bigkahuna

bigkahuna

Question, have you ever actually seen Pahoehoe lava? I lived on Big Island for a while (my wife's family lives there and Oahu) and all the lava I saw was much darker, almost black. Bright sunlight makes the minerals reflect a lot of light giving it a light grey specular color, but the lava itself is often jet black. Is this actively flowing or old? Active lava would be very interesting (and probably difficult) to recreate, the cracks vent steam or hot air and the hot lava underneath is very bright yellow.

What reference photos are you working from?

3. aaron-parr

aaron-parr

Actually, no, I have never seen it in person. I am working completely from photographs all of which give it variations of the color you see here. I assume the light gray with hotspots is due to its natural smoothness and reflectivity. These reference photos are from the internet. I googled Pahohoe and browsed images for awhile. I've got about 10 images I've been experimenting with. What you see in the shots I attached only used three of these.

My intention was to create a newish looking flow that has yet to crack much, but is inactive. Creating steam vents and such is a bit beyond my abilities at the moment, and AngryAnt still wants me to make some characters. I'll have to leave active lava for the future. In the meantime I would like to improve upon what I have done.

With that in mind: If I did make it black, how would I tell the terrain engine to give it the specularity I want?